Council 29 March 2012



21 March 2012

To the Members of the Borough Council

You are summoned to attend a **Special Meeting** of the **Eastbourne Borough Council** to be held in the **Assembly Room at the Town Hall, Grove Road, Eastbourne**, on **Thursday 29 March 2012** at **6.00pm** to transact the following business:-

Agenda

- 1. Minutes of the ordinary meeting of the Council held on 22 February 2012 (pages 289 to 297 - previously circulated).
- 2. Notification of apologies for absence.
- **3. Motion by Councillor David Tutt** that the Council, in exercise of their powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act, 1972:-

(1) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **Beryl Anne Healy** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 30 September 1993 until her retirement on 8 May 2006.

(2) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **Bert Leggett B.A.** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 15 December 1983 until his retirement on 22 April 2004.

(3) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman upon **Mary Anne Pooley** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 7 May 1990 for until her retirement on 9 May 2011.

(4) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **Olive Marian Mary Woodall** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 6 May 1991 until her retirement on 9 May 2011.

4. Motion by **Councillor David Elkin** that the Council, in exercise of their powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act, 1972:-

(1) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **Barbara Mary Verene Goodall** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 6 May 1991 until 4 May 1995 and again from 3 September 1998 until her retirement on 9 May 2011. (2) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **Graham Harvey Marsden D.L.C., B.Ed., M.A.** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 6 May 1991 until his retirement on 9 May 2011.

(3) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **Ann Patricia Murray** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 9 May 1988 until her retirement on 7 May 2007.

(4)Do confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **David Guy Stevens M.A.** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 5 May 1983 until his retirement on 7 May 2007.

(Note: By virtue of Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act, 1972, if these motions are to be effective they must be passed by not less than two-thirds of the Members voting thereon.)

Robert Cottrill Chief Executive

Members of the public are welcome to attend.

It would be appreciated if Members of the Council, Guests and Members of the Public could arrive at the Town Hall by no later than 5.45pm to ensure that everyone can be seated in time for the start of the meeting.